Bluebeam is a great software for architects, builders, and contractors as it lets them work on their projects much more effectively. It allows them to work on a PDF file more conveniently as they can add markups, collaborate and organize the important project files in an effective manner.
However, due to human or technical errors, it is common to delete the Bluebeam files and sessions. If it happens to you then you can end up in big trouble because all your project details will go missing.
Don’t worry in this article I will show you how to recover deleted, unsaved, or crashed Bluebeam session and files. So without wasting more time let’s get going.
- Can You Recover Permanently Deleted Bluebeam Session?
- How To Recover Deleted Bluebeam Session?
- How To Recover Deleted Bluebeam Files?
- How To Recover Unsaved Changes On Bluebeam?
- Recover Bluebeam Markups And Changes From Previous Version
- How Do I Recover A Deleted Bluebeam Studio Session? Final verdict
Can You Recover Permanently Deleted Bluebeam Session?
No, unfortunately, once the Bluebeam session is permanently deleted, it cannot be recovered. The following are the scenarios when the Bluebeam sessions are permanently deleted.
- If you have a finished session then it will be permanently deleted after 120 days. Until the 120 days have passed the finished session is stored in the server so you can easily recover it.
- In case you have deleted a session, it will not be permanently deleted from the server immediately. It stays there for 120 days and is only deleted after that.
- If you have not used a session for more than 180 days then due to inactivity the session will be permanently deleted from the server.
If your Bluebeam files or sessions are not permanently deleted yet then you can follow the methods listed below to recover the lost sessions/files.
How To Recover Deleted Bluebeam Session?
To recover a deleted Bluebeam session you can follow the steps listed below.
- First, you need to log out of the Bluebeam Studio.
- Next, you need to visit the Bluebeam site. Login into your account with your Bluebeam ID.
- Go to My Sessions and then select the session which you want to retrieve.
- Next, click on the Document option and note down the name or Document ID of the deleted session document.
- Now under the Status tab, click on the name or document ID of the lost session document. After that, click on Recover and your deleted session document will be recovered.
Note: If the session you are looking to recover is inactive or finished then you have to first reactivate that session and then only can you recover data from it. To reactivate a Bluebeam session you can follow the below steps:
Reactivate a Bluebeam Session
The hosts of a Bluebeam session have the authority to reactivate a session that has been deleted, suspended, or archived. To do so you can follow these steps.
- Sign in to your Bluebeam account with the BBID.
- After logging in, go to My Sessions, and select the session you want to recover.
- Now on the profile tab, you will see a dropdown menu. Click on it to see hidden options.
- From the options that show up choose Active to reactivate the desired session. With this, the session will be reactivated and you can view it under your sessions list.
How To Recover Deleted Bluebeam Files?
A Bluebeam file is either stored on the cloud or on your PC’s local storage. If you have deleted the files from your computer then you can recover the lost Bluebeam files using the following methods.
1. From Recycle Bin
The first thing you can do is try to restore the lost Bluebeam files from the Recycle Bin. Because if you have not deleted the file with the shift+delete command then the files won’t be permanently deleted. They will be in the Recycle Bin.
Just go to the Recycle Bin and search for the lost file. If there are too many unwanted files in the Recycle Bin then you can try searching for the deleted Bulebeam file by its name. Once the file is found, right-click on it and Restore. The file will be recovered to its original place and you can now use it again.
2. Using A Data Recovery Software
If you can’t find the deleted files in the Recycle Bin then it means the files are now permanently deleted. In this scenario, you may need data recovery software that can recover the permanently deleted Bluebeam files.
I have listed some of the best data recovery software for Windows PC after testing them. You can make use of anyone of them.
All you have to do is install the software on your PC and then you need to launch the software. After that, you have to select the drive from which the file was deleted and scan it. The software will take some time and show you the recovered files. If you see the file that you wish to recover, just select it and recover the file to your PC. It’s that simple.
How To Recover Unsaved Changes On Bluebeam?
Bluebeam has an inbuilt recovery feature that will help you recover unsaved changes in case the app crashed before you could save the changes. All you have to do is relaunch the Bluebeam app and all the unsaved files will appear in front of you on a dialog box by the name “Recover Unsaved Changes”.
If you want to recover an unsaved file, all you have to do is select it and click on OK. With this, you can easily recover the unsaved changes on Bluebeam.
Note: The recovery system only takes the backup of the unsaved changes if you have already enabled this feature.
Recover Bluebeam Markups And Changes From Previous Version
Just like Windows, there is a previous version feature available in Bluebeam as well. This means you can recover Bluebeam markups and changes easily if you have lost them. Here’s how you can do that.
- Go to Bluebeam and right-click on the document you wish to restore. With this, the Revision History window will open where you can see all the previous versions of the document.
- Simply choose one of the previous versions and click on Restore Revision.
With this, the document will be restored to one of the previous versions that you select. And that’s how you can recover the markups and changes which were missing from it.
How Do I Recover A Deleted Bluebeam Studio Session? Final Verdict
Recovering deleted Bluebeam session is quite possible if the session has not been permanently deleted. Because once the files or sessions are permanently deleted, they are removed from the Bluebeam server and you cannot recover them.
But if the files/sessions are not permanently deleted then you can easily recover files, sessions, unsaved changes, and markups using the above-mentioned methods.
Where Are Bluebeam Recovery Files Saved?
They are saved in the Bluebeam database folder which can be accessed by following this path: %TEMP%Bluebeam SoftwareRevu.
How Do I View History In Bluebeam?
You can view the Bluebeam project history by right clicking on a particular document and then selecting Revision History.
Can You Retrieve A Bluebeam File That Was Not Saved?
Yes, it is possible to retrieve a Bluebeam file that was not saved.